RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

Human skin verrucas as well as gebital verrucas are known since ancient times. Already at the end of the last century, Variot and Judasohn proofed that it is possible to transfer them from person to person. In the meantime , members of the Papovaviridae, the human Papillomvirus (HPV), were identified as the etiologic agent.

The Papillom viruses are a group of small DNA-viruses, with extraordinary much different subtypes, that infect all superior vertebrates. We distinguish them between benign and malign subtypes. Albeit structural analogies, the individual subtypes show high differences regarding its tissue specificity and its transforming qualities.Papillom viruses infect the basal cells of the skin and the mucosa and activate them to divide themselves.
The viruses have a diameter of approx. 55 nm. They do not passess a capsula. In capsid consist of 72 capsomeres. Every capsomer is a pentamer of the major capsidproteins (L 1-protein). Furthermore, the capsid contains a minor protein (L 2-protein), that has a proportion of 3 - 5 % on the complete protein.
The genome of Papillom viruses consists in approx. 8 kb double-strand, circular DNA. The DNA is associated in virions and histons and builds them a structure simular to chromatin. The genetic organisation of all Papillom viruses is similar.


.

Some years ago there were achieved particles similar with a virus (VLP) through expressions of the capsid genes- It is not possible to difference them from infectious virus with an electronic microscope.

go on to researching details from Papillom virus

FORSCHUNG UND ENTWICKLUNG

Sowohl Haut- als auch Genitalwarzen des Menschen sind seit altersher bekannt. Bereits Ende des letzten Jahrhunderts wurde ihre Uebertragbarkeit von Mensch zu Mensch durch Variot und Judasohn bewiesen. Mittlerweile wurden als Krankheitserreger Mitglieder der Papovaviridae, die humanen Papillomviren (HPV), identifiziert.

Papillomviren sind eine Gruppe kleiner DNA-Viren mit außergewoehnlich vielen verschiedenen Subtypen, die alle hoehere Wirbeltiere infizieren. Man unterscheidet dabei zwischen gutartigen und krebserregenden Subtypen. Ungeachtet struktureller Uebereinstimmungen zeigen die einzelnen Subtypen jedoch sehr starke Unterschiede hinsichtlich ihrer Gewebsspezifitaet und ihrer transformierenden Eigenschaften. Papillomviren infizieren die Basalzellen der Haut und der Schleimhaeute und regen diese zur Teilung an.

Die Viren haben einen Durchmesser von etwa 55 nm. Sie besitzen keine Huelle, ihr Capsid besteht aus 72 Capsomeren. Jedes Capsomer ist ein Pentamer des majoren Capsidproteins (L1-Protein). Außerdem enthaelt das Capsid ein minores Protein (L2-Protein), dessen Anteil am Gesamtprotein etwa 3-5% beträgt.

Das Genom von Papillomviren besteht aus etwa 8 kb doppelstraehngiger, zirkulaerer DNA. Die DNA ist in Virionen mit Histonen assoziiert, mit denen sie eine chromatinaehnliche Struktur bildet. Die genetische Organisation aller Papillomviren ist sehr aehnlich.

Vor wenigen Jahren gelang es, durch Expression der Capsid-Gene virusaehnliche Partikel (VLP), also "leere Viren", zu erhalten. Diese sind elektronenmikroskopisch nicht von infektioesen Viren zu unterscheiden.

Weiter zu Forschungsfokus Papillomviren